Error for reused Windows logon name in Personalization

When a Windows logon name is reused that user won’t be able to access the AppSense Self Service Portal. The user will receive the message “The communication object, System.ServiceModel.Channels.ServiceChannel, cannot be used for communication because it is in the Faulted state.”

appsense

The reason is, when a user is deleted from Active Directory that user will still exist in the AppSense database even if we delete all the personalization data for that user.
When a new user is created with the same Windows Logon Name as the deleted user, AppSense will create a second entry in his database with LoginName “username (2)”. For that user to be able to access the Self Service Portal we have to delete the old user from the User table in the AppSense personalization database.
SQL query to receive all AppSense users with a specified Windows Logon Name:

select * from dbo.[User]
WHERE Name=’DOMAIN\username’;

A list of users is shown, notice the different Windows SIDs.
Example:

example

SQL query to delete a user from the User table:
CAUTION: Make sure to take a backup of your database before you delete a record from a table. Serious problems might occur if you delete the wrong record(s). Therefore, make sure that you follow these steps carefully.
DELETE from dbo.[User]
WHERE Name=’DOMAIN\username’ and LoginName=’DOMAIN\username’;

Example:

example_3

After this action the user will be able to access his Self-Service Portal

appsense_self-service-portal

Note: in the AppSense database the user LoginName will still be “username (2)” but the user will be able to access the Self-Service. AppSense administrators who use Personalization Analysis will still need to use the LoginName “username (2)

2016-12-11T18:05:57+00:00 April 16th, 2016|
SecureLink

SecureLink

X